Statistics

Calvinism Statistics: Churches, Membership, Worship, and Giving in 2024

A factual overview of 2024 Calvinist denominational statistics covering churches, members, leadership, baptisms, worship, and finances.

Calvinist denominations report a wide range of measures for church life, from congregations and ordained leaders to membership, baptisms, worship attendance, and giving. The 2024 reports from the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) (PC(USA)), the Reformed Church in America (RCA), and the Presbyterian Church in America (PCA) provide a useful statistical picture, although each denomination uses its own categories and reporting structure.

Table of contents

Denominational structure

The PC(USA) reported 16 synods, 166 presbyteries, and 8,432 churches in 2024. Its organizational statistics also included 17,742 ministers, 51,433 elders, 1,173 commissioned ruling elders, and 638 candidates. The denomination recorded 149 ordinations during the year. These figures come from the PC(USA) 2024 Comparative Summaries of Statistics.

The PCA reported a different scale and structure in its PCA 2024 Five-Year Summary. It had 87 presbyteries, 1,667 churches, and 297 missions. The report counted 5,347 teaching elders, 767 candidates, and 214 licentiates. The PCA’s use of teaching elders and licentiates reflects its own ecclesiastical terminology, so the categories should not be treated as exact equivalents of every PC(USA) leadership category.

The RCA reported 579 churches in its RCA 2024 Preliminary Summary of the Statistical Report. It also counted 99 church plants with a denominational plan. Together, these figures show three different ways a Reformed denomination can describe its institutional footprint: established churches, presbyteries or synods, missions, and church plants.

DenominationChurchesRegional bodies reportedOther communities reported
PC(USA)8,43216 synods; 166 presbyteries327 new worshipping communities
RCA579Not specified in the supplied 2024 figures99 church plants with a denominational plan
PCA1,66787 presbyteries297 missions

The denominators and definitions differ by report. The table is therefore a compact comparison of reported counts, not a ranking of the denominations or a combined estimate of Calvinism worldwide.

Membership and congregational life

The PC(USA) reported 1,045,848 active members in 2024. Its membership report also counted 7,826 baptisms presented by others, 1,351 baptisms at confirmation, and 1,824 other baptisms. The denomination recorded 123 churches dissolved during the year and 327 new worshipping communities. Those numbers place established congregations and newer forms of worship in the same statistical frame, while keeping them as separate categories.

The RCA reported 79,824 total members, consisting of 50,339 confessing members, 16,163 inactive members, and 13,322 baptized members. It also counted 33,013 church households and 18,445 adherents. Average worship attendance was 43,817. Because the RCA reports households, adherents, members, and attendance separately, these figures measure different aspects of participation rather than interchangeable totals.

The PCA reported 400,751 total members in 2024. Its membership categories included 313,001 communicants and 82,403 non-communicants. The same report counted 145,417 family units. The difference between communicants, non-communicants, total members, and family units illustrates why denominational membership statistics need category labels when they are compared.

Within the RCA’s 2024 report, membership movement included 2,214 people received on confession, 581 received on certificate, and 777 transferred members. The denomination recorded 1,104 deceased members and 1,927 other removals from the roll. These figures describe reported additions and removals for the year; they do not by themselves explain the causes of membership change.

Who belongs to these churches

The PC(USA)‘s 2024 racial and ethnic membership counts included 727,425 white members, 38,687 Black/African American/Africa members, 31,872 Asian/Pacific Islander/South Asian members, and 14,927 Hispanic/Latinx members. The report also counted 11,737 multiracial members, 3,102 Middle Eastern/North African members, and 2,481 Native American/Alaska Native/Indigenous members.

These categories are reported counts for PC(USA) members, not a demographic estimate for all Calvinists or all Christians in the United States. The labels are retained as reported in the denomination’s 2024 statistical summary.

The largest listed category was white members, at 727,425. Among the other listed categories, the counts were 38,687 Black/African American/Africa members, 31,872 Asian/Pacific Islander/South Asian members, 14,927 Hispanic/Latinx members, 11,737 multiracial members, 3,102 Middle Eastern/North African members, and 2,481 Native American/Alaska Native/Indigenous members. These numbers should be read as separate reported categories rather than recombined through unsupported arithmetic.

Age and gender statistics

The PC(USA) reported 60,119 members ages 18–25, 113,420 ages 26–40, 140,865 ages 41–55, 215,641 ages 56–70, and 294,987 ages 71 and over in 2024. It also reported 29,731 children ages 4 and under, 61,000 elementary school children, 31,808 middle school children, and 39,429 high school children.

The age categories show how the report separates children from adult member age bands. They also show that the supplied figures do not provide a single complete age distribution: several child categories and five adult categories are listed, but the report excerpt does not supply every possible age classification or explain whether all categories use the same membership status.

By gender, the PC(USA) reported 515,586 women members, 353,657 men members, and 1,728 non-binary/genderqueer members in 2024. These are the reported counts for those categories and should not be interpreted as a complete population estimate beyond the denomination’s reporting system.

Baptisms and professions of faith

Baptism statistics differ substantially in both terminology and reporting scope. The PC(USA) recorded 7,826 baptisms presented by others, 1,351 baptisms at confirmation, and 1,824 other baptisms in 2024. The RCA recorded 829 infants baptized and 834 adults baptized. The PCA recorded 5,541 infant baptisms and 3,083 adult baptisms.

DenominationInfant baptismsAdult baptismsOther baptism categories reported
PC(USA)Not specified in these figuresNot specified in these figures7,826 presented by others; 1,351 at confirmation; 1,824 other
RCA829834None listed in the supplied figures
PCA5,5413,083None listed in the supplied figures

The PCA also reported 5,543 professions of faith by children and 5,678 professions of faith by adults. A profession of faith is a different reported event from a baptism, so the PCA figures should not be added together as though they were one measure. Likewise, the PC(USA), RCA, and PCA categories are not standardized in the supplied reports.

Worship, movement, and new communities

The RCA’s average worship attendance was 43,817 in 2024, alongside 79,824 total members and 18,445 adherents. Attendance and membership are separate measures: the attendance figure describes average participation in worship, while the membership figure describes the denomination’s reported membership categories.

The PC(USA) recorded 327 new worshipping communities and 123 dissolved churches in 2024. The PCA counted 297 missions, while the RCA counted 99 church plants with a denominational plan. The labels are not interchangeable, but each points to activity beyond a simple count of established congregations.

Leadership and formation measures also differed. The PC(USA) reported 638 candidates and 149 ordinations; the PCA reported 767 candidates and 214 licentiates; and the RCA figures supplied here report church plants rather than a comparable candidate or ordination count. These figures can indicate different stages of denominational development, but the reports do not provide a common definition for a cross-denomination trend.

Giving, income, and expenses

The RCA reported $128,990,824 in contributions received in 2024, $165,767,663 in total income, $6,127,970 in assessments paid, $160,232,726 in total expenses, and $5,534,937 in net income. It also reported 33,013 church households, but the supplied figures do not provide a common per-household or per-member calculation for the RCA.

The PCA reported $1,289,245,520 in total contributions. Its 2024 summary also listed $4,118.98 in per capita giving, $170,288,378 in total benevolences, $925,491,788 in congregational current expenses, $114,694,061 in congregational building fund giving, and $1,210,474,227 in total all disbursements. The report separately identified $544 in per capita benevolences.

The financial categories are not a single standardized accounting series. Contributions, income, expenses, benevolences, building-fund giving, and disbursements represent different reported measures. For that reason, the RCA and PCA amounts are best read within their own denominational reports rather than combined into a single Calvinist financial total.

Taken together, the 2024 statistics describe Calvinist church life through several lenses: institutional organization, membership definitions, demographic reporting, baptism and profession categories, worship participation, new communities, and financial activity. The PC(USA), RCA, and PCA reports provide concrete denominational counts, while their differing terminology makes careful labeling essential when using the figures for comparison.

Written by

newcitypres.com Editorial Team

Editorial team

Independent editorial coverage of faith & everyday life.